JEE Main eligibility criteria 2020

JEE Main eligibility criteria 2020 1

Shweta Katheria

Aug 8, 2019 . 2 min read

Introduction to eligibility criteria

NJEE Main 2020 eligibility criteria – the NTA (National Testing Agency) generally declares JEE Main eligibility. It mostly remains the same for both January and April attempts. NTA conducts JEE Main twice a year since 2019. We have confirmed that an Aadhaar ID is not compulsory to apply for JEE Mains.

Aspirants are advised to check the JEE Main 2020 Eligibility Criteria carefully before applying for the exam. They need to clear the criteria. Failing to do so, the student WILL get rejected during the later stages in the admission process. So the aspirants who meet the full JEE Main 2020 eligibility criteria are eligible for the same. Check here the importance of JEE Main. So you are recommended to go through these JEE Main Eligibility Criteria 2020 very carefully.

The eligibility criteria usually remain the same. Even if there are some changes, they’ll be minor ones. Since 2019, Aspirants now can give a total of six attempts in JEE Main for 3 consecutive years. For JEE Advanced, 2 consecutive years and only 2 attempts can be given.

One last thing before we go for the criteria. I’m sure you’d these criteria right away. But are you confident about your JEE preparations? If there’s any room for hesitation regarding this, you can boost your confidence with unlimited practice questions for revisions. Clear your remaining doubts in seconds. All for free after signup.


JEE Main eligibility criteria 2020

All of the below criteria are necessary to clear.

1. Nationality

Citizens of India can apply (of course). Foreign national candidates, NRIs, and OCIs are also eligible.

2. Qualifying exam

The student who has cleared class 12 or any other equivalent qualifying exams in 2018 or 2019. Those who are appearing for their 12th class board exam or another equivalent qualifying exam (10+2) in 2020 are also eligible for the entrance test.

3. Age restrictions

JEE conducting authority has removed any and all age limit criteria for JEE Mains. However, age is considered when they’re calculating All India Rank (AIR). In case you get the same number as other aspirants, the student with lower age has an advantage

4. Number of attempts

As mentioned above, you can give a total of 6 attempts during 3 consecutive years for JEE Mains. The first attempt starts in January during the 12th class or other equivalent qualifying examination. Since the exam is conducted twice a year, you can attempt twice a year. JEE Advanced can be given only twice in 2 consecutive years.

5. Subjects in the qualifying Exam

Five subjects are necessary for the 12th or equivalent qualifying exam. These five subjects for B.Tech/ B.E. pursuing students are

  • Maths
  • Physics
  • Language
  • Anyone of Biology / Biotechnology /  Chemistry / Technical Vocational Subject
  • Any subject of your choice

These five subjects for students pursuing B. Planning / B.Arch are:

  • Maths – Mandatory
  • Physics
  • Language
  • Anyone of Biology / Biotechnology /  Chemistry / Technical Vocational Subject
  • Any subject of your choice

Year of Appearance in 12th for JEE Main 2020 Eligibility

  •  If you’ve already given your 12th board exam or equivalent qualifying exam 2018 or 2019, then you’re eligible to give JEE Main 2020 exam and take admission through the process.
  • If you’re currently in class 12th or equivalent 10+2 and you’ll be giving the board exam in 2020, then you’re also eligible to give JEE Main 2020 exam.
  • If you’ve given the 12th board exam or equivalent qualifying exam in 2017 or before, then you’re disqualified from JEE Main 2020. Also, students who have failed in the 12th board in 2017 and appeared again in 2018 are also disqualified from JEE Main 2020.

JEE Main Eligibility criteria 2020 for Qualifying Exam Subjects

To appear in JEE Main 2020, the aspirant needs to have at least 5 subjects cleared the 12th board exam or other equivalent qualifying exams. The below is the list of these 5 required subjects to be eligible in JEE Mains 2020.

  • Maths – Mandatory
  • Physics – Mandatory
  • Language
  • Anyone of Biology / Biotechnology /  Chemistry / Technical Vocational Subject
  • Any subject of your choice

For students preparing for B. Planning or B. Arch, everything from the above is the same except the Physics subject is not compulsory

JEE Main eligibility 2020 with state codes

Below is the table for all the states and Union territories with their respective state codes. State codes denote from where the student has given the 12th board or other equivalent qualifying exams. Note that even if your improvement exam state is different, the home doesn’t change. This is important since you’ll be getting home state quota in many colleges based on your state codes. The state codes are:

State Code State Code
Andaman & Nicobar Islands (UT) 1 Andhra Pradesh 2
Arunachal Pradesh 3 Assam 4
Bihar 5 Chandigarh (UT) 6
Chhattisgarh 7 Dadra & Nagar Haveli (UT) 8
Daman & Diu (UT) 9 Delhi – NCR 10
Goa 11 Gujarat 12
Haryana 13 Himachal Pradesh 14
Jammu & Kashmir (UT) 15 Jharkhand 16
Karnataka 17 Kerala 18
Lakshadweep (UT) 19 Madhya Pradesh 20
Maharashtra 21 Manipur 22
Meghalaya 23 Mizoram 24
Nagaland 25 Odisha 26
Puducherry (UT) 27 Punjab 28
Rajasthan 29 Sikkim 30
Tamil Nadu 31 Tripura 32
Uttar Pradesh 33 Uttarakhand 34
West Bengal 35 telangana 36

JEE Main Eligibility criteria 2020 for NITs, IIITs and CFTIs

Top 3 NITs are NIT Tiruchirapalli, NIT Rourkela and NIT Karnataka (source NRIF India 2019 [Link: https://www.nirfindia.org/engg]). Minimum marks required to enter into any NITs, IIITs and CFTIs are 75% in the qualifying Exam. If not, being in the top 20 percentile in the respective board exam. For aspirants belonging to reserved categories, The minimum marks required are only 65% for these colleges. The subject combination is the same as mentioned above.

NIT Puducherry


JEE Main – Improvement Exam in 2020

  • Improvement in all subjects – If you appear for the improvement exam in all the subjects in 2020, then the highest marks of both years will be considered. The same goes for the percentile.
  • Improvement in one or partial subjects – If you appear for the improvement exam in partial subjects, then your percentile from the 2019 qualifying board exam will be considered. Aggregate marks will be recalculated and the best of both examinations will be considered.

JEE Main 2020 eligibility criteria for the droppers

  • No age limit for you. Initially, it was 24 years age limit.
  • An aspirant must have passed the 12th class exam or equivalent qualifying exam in 2018 or 2019.
  • Qualifying exam subject criteria are the same as above. 5 subjects in the exam with Physics and Maths as mandatory subjects.
  • For NITs, IIITs and CFTIs admissions, 12th board or equivalent qualifying exam must be passed with minimum aggregate marks of 75% (65% for SC/ST and PwD) or be in the Top 20 percentile in their respective boards.

If you’re eligible for JEE Main, I highly recommend you to go and fill out the JEE Main application form. So, these are the criteria a dropper/repeater must have to be eligible for JEE Mains 2020.

The top 2,24,000 candidates qualifying Main will be allowed to appear for the Advanced exam. If you’re also preparing for JEE Advanced, check out this Unlimited Practice Application. Get our free Mock test series for JEE Main 2020 from there or by logging in here.

We hope that you ROCK your JEE ?

You can visit us at https://rancho.in to boost your IIT preparation. Get more tips and information about JEE Advanced here.